Ghertner & Company is a proud member of the Tennessee Chapter of the Community Associations Institute (CAI) and the Greater Nashville Chapter 71 of the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM).

Keep reading for more information on these organizations.

Property Management Nashville.jpg

The Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM®) is an international community of real estate managers across all property types dedicated to ethical business practices and maximizing the value of investment real estate. An affiliate of the National Association of Realtors®, IREM has been a trusted source for knowledge, advocacy and networking for the real estate management community for more than 77 years.

IREM is the only professional real estate management association serving both the multi-family and commercial real estate sectors and has 80 U.S. chapters, 13 international chapters, and several other partnerships around the globe. Worldwide membership includes nearly 18,000 individual members and over 535 corporate members.

Members of IREM are obliged to uphold the IREM Code of Professional Ethics, thus, conducting their professional activities in accordance with the Code.

Through IREM, managers and their firms have the opportunity to earn the coveted CPM and AMO designations further described below.

HOA Management Services.jpg

Ghertner & Company has earned the designation of ACCREDITED MANAGEMENT ORGANIZATION (AMO®).  This accredation recognizes excellence among real estate management firms. Requirements to earn accreditation are:

Maintain appropriate insurance coverage – to ensure financial stability and to protect owner’s funds

  • Pass an independent fi nancial review
  • Have a CPM Member in an executive position to supervise management operations
  • Promise to abide by the AMO Code of Professional Ethics and Minimum Standards
Brentwood Property Management.jpg


For individual real estate and asset managers working with large portfolios of all property types – residential, commercial, retail and industrial.  Requirements to earn the designation are:

  • Education – though IREM courses, through other specific credentials, through academic achievement, or through 20 years of qualifying real estate management experience

  • Experience – minimum of 36 months of qualifying real estate management experience

  • Ethics – promise to uphold the IREM Code of Professional Ethics and pass the IREM ethics course

  • Examination – show competency in all aspects of real estate management by passing a certification exam. In addition, demonstrate the practical application of all that has been learned on the job and in the classroom through a written management plan

Franklin Property Management.jpg

Community Associations Institute (CAI) is a national organization dedicated to fostering vibrant, competent, harmonious community associations. For more than 30 years, CAI has been the leader in providing education and resources to the volunteer homeowners who govern community associations and the professionals who support them.  Members include community association volunteer leaders, professional managers, community management firms and other professionals and companies that provide products and services to associations.

Clarksville Property Management.jpg

Accredited Association Management Company™ (AAMC™)

The AAMC accreditation is awarded to companies that specialize in community association management and that are committed to providing unique and diverse services to their clients. A company that holds this designation ensures their staff has the skills, experience, and integrity to help your community succeed.

  • The requirements of the AAMC are:At least 50 percent of the company's managers must hold designations or certifications
  • The senior manager must hold a PCAM designation
  • The company must have a minimum of three years experience providing community association management services.

An Accredited Association Management Company commits to upholding the highest ethical standards and is required to meet CAI's financial management and reporting standards.

Professional Community Association Manager® (PCAM®)

The PCAM designation is the highest professional recognition available nationwide to managers who specialize in community association management. A manager who has earned the PCAM designation has displayed a significant commitment to the industry. Through extensive education requirements, they have gained an understanding of all aspects of community association management.

To obtain this designation, one must:

  • Earn both a CMCA certification and AMS designation
  • Pass all six of CAI's 200-level courses which cover instruction on a variety of complex management issues
  • Complete an extensive Case Study
  • Comply with CAI's Professional Code of Ethics
  • Have at least five years of community management experience
  • Continue with additional education requirements every three years to maintain the designation

A manager with a PCAM designation is a dedicated professional at the top of their field.

Certified Manager of Community Associations® (CMCA®)

The only national certification program designed exclusively for condominium, cooperative, and homeowner association managers, the CMCA program provides standards for association management and gives homeowners and boards confidence in their manager's knowledge and ability to provide professional service.

The CMCA certification is administered by CAI's affiliate organization, the National Board of Certification for Community Association Managers (NBC-CAM). The CMCA is the first level in a manager's professional education process. It recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the fundamental knowledge needed to manage community associations. To obtain this certification managers must:

  • Successfully complete CAI's Professional Management Development Program (PMDP) course, M-100: The Essentials of Community Association Management
  • Pass the CMCA Examination administered by the National Board of Certification for Community Association Managers (NBC-CAM)
  • Adhere to standards of professional conduct
  • Continue their education with additional course work every two years to maintain their certification